Important INC Session


INC Session

Indian National Congress Important Sessions

Indian National Congress was the only effective pan India political organisation during British rule. It had branches in almost all parts of the India. Indian National Congress was formally enacted by a retired English servant named A.O. in 1885. Its first session was held in Bombay in December 1885. First session was attended by the 72 delegates and it was presided by Womesh Chandra Bonnerjea.

Year Place President Details
1885 (1st Congress Session) Bombay W.C. Bonerjea 1st congress Session Attended by 72 delegates
1886 (2nd congress Session) Calcutta Dadabhai Naoroji Merger of National Congress and National Conference
1887 (3rd Congress Session) Madras Syed Badruddin Tyabji First Muslim President
1888 (4th Congress Session) Allahabad George Yule First English President
1906 (22nd Congress Session) Calcutta Dadabhai Naoroji ‘Swaraj’ was mentioned for the 1st time 
1907 (23rd Congress Session) Surat Rash Behari Ghosh  Split of congress into Moderates and Extremists
1916 (32nd Congress Session) Lucknow A.C Majumdar Reunion of Moderates and Extremists
1917 (33rd Congress Session) Calcutta Annie Besant 1st women President of Congress
1920 (36th Congress Session) Nagpur C. Vijayaraghavachariar New constitution for Congress was adopted
1925 Kanpur Sarojini Naidu 1st Indian Women President
1929 Lahore JL Nehru Resolution for ‘Purna Swaraj’
1931 Karachi Vallabhbhai Patel Resolution of Fundamental Rights and Economic Progress
1937 Faizpur JL Nehru First Congress Session at village



Share this post

submit to reddit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top